Edwin Street Nursery and Amble First School follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum throughout our nursery and reception class provision.


We aim to promote and support the four guiding principles that shape practice in the foundation stage, as described below:

  • A Unique Child
    Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  • Positive Relationships
    Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  • Enabling environments
    Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and carers.
  • Learning and Development
    Children develop and learn in different ways. The EYFS framework covers the education and care of ALL children in early years provision.

There are seven “Areas of Learning” within the EYFS. We cover these areas through planned, purposeful play, child-initiated activities and adult-led activities.

The curriculum has 3 PRIME AREAS which are important for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, for building their capacity to learn, to form relationships and to thrive.

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development 
  • Personal, social and emotional development 

There are also 4 SPECIFIC AREAS which concentrate on essential skills and knowledge that will support children’s development.

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics 
  • Understanding the World 
  • Expressive arts and design 
Please see our EYFS Policy for more detailed information.